Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Gaucho at Yardi Systems

September 25, 2015

_MG_6676-cropped

Name: Stephanie Smith

Major at UCSB:
Computer Science

Date of graduation:
2013

Current Job Title at Yardi Systems:
Software Development Engineer I

What motivated you to work at Yardi Systems?
I was looking for a specific company culture and a place where I could be challenged but not overworked. I am surrounded by friendly active people and working on interesting projects every day.

Give us a snapshot of a typical work day.
Usually I’ll come in check my e-mails and get some coffee. If I have any high priority data fixes come in those are the first to get done. I then work on any ongoing projects. At lunch time I usually go to the gym or go swim in the ocean. When I come back it’s more of the same ongoing projects. Sometimes this involves talking with other people on the team.

What were the 3 most important things you did during you application process to help you land the job?
1. I made sure I got my resume reviewed at career fair events and had an eye catching job objective at the top of my resume. I made sure to list all of my previous work experience, any interesting projects or coursework I took and clubs I was are active in.
2. Before handing my resume to Yardi I made sure to really research the company. I knew a couple alumni and had talked to them about their experiences at Yardi. I also made sure I had an elevator speech to give Yardi at the career fair and why I was interested in their company.
3. During the interview I dressed to impress and remembered to just be myself. I did a lot of interview practice before the interview so I was prepared for any board work thrown at me. I also was prepared to answer any standard interview questions like “Where do you see yourself in 5 years”. I had also made my own list of questions to ask hiring managers to show my interest and to really get to know the company more.

What experience helped you prepare the most for this job?
It was a combination of classes in school to learn fundamentals and different internships that allowed me to learn quickly and work well at this job.

Looking back on undergrad, is there anything you would have done differently to prepare for your career?
If I were to do something differently I would have gone beyond my schoolwork before my 3rd year. I would have taken advantage of more tech talks and worked on more of my own projects.

What is your advice to students interested in similar positions?
Find what you’re passionate about and bring that to your company.

For more information about the great opportunities at Yardi Systems, visit: http://www.yardi.com/about-us/career-opportunities/welcome-students/

Comments are closed.

