Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Gaucho at AppFolio

October 23, 2015

appfolio_600

aName: Anna Alter

Major at UCSB: Psychology

Date of graduation: June 2012

Current Job Title at AppFolio: Manager, Customer Success

What motivated you to work at AppFolio?
I had heard about AppFolio in some of my classes before I interviewed, so I knew that it was a great start-up in town founded by the creators of GoToMeeting. My number one priority in my first post-college job was a healthy, fast-paced work environment where I would continue to stay challenged – we definitely have that here!

Give us a snapshot of a typical work day.
Since I am now a manager, most of my day is spent guiding my team members to grow within their roles by helping them with their work. We help our clients solve problems they come across in the software and ensure they are successful long term by recommending AppFolio best practices.

What were the 3 most important things you did during your application process to help you land the job?

  1. I picked 6-7 companies I was interested in prior to the UCSB Career Fair and researched them thoroughly. Keep an open mind! I did not know that AppFolio would be my top choice until I met everyone at the booth and learned about their experiences.
  2. I looked to my network and asked for advice from people I knew were connected to AppFolio before interviewing. It is helpful to know some basics about the culture before walking in the door.
  3. I followed up after the interview, thanking my (now) manager for his time. Not everyone does this, but it goes a long way. It shows that you are interested and want to continue the process.

What experience helped you prepare the most for this job?
The Technology Management Program at UCSB is fantastic. I started the program Spring quarter of my Junior year and could not be happier with the experience. I loved so many classes at UCSB, but I felt that TMP was best at giving students hands-on business experience.

Looking back on undergrad, is there anything you would have done differently to prepare for your career?
I wish that I did more summer internships – if you are not stacking up your summers with classes, make the most of that time off! It will set you apart when it is time to land a permanent job.

What is your advice to students interested in similar positions?
Do your research, know yourself, and ask good questions. Make sure you apply for a position where you will be able to use your strengths. If this is the case, the interview should go smoothly. Never ask a question that you could have answered by reading the company’s website! If you know someone that works for the company you want to join, take them out for lunch and get as much information as possible out of them. They might even refer you!

For more information about the opportunities at AppFolio, visit: http://www.appfolioinc.com/jobs

 

Comments are closed.

