Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Gaucho at Enterprise

November 6, 2015

enterprise 2

Name: Nolan Duprey

Major at UCSB: Psychology

Date of graduation: 2012

Current Job Title at Enterprise: Assistant Manager Santa Maria

What motivated you to work at your present company?
Coming out of UCSB, I still wasn’t sure what I wanted to do for a career. I loved Psychology, but I couldn’t find a career I liked that supported me financially with just a Bachelor’s degree, and I wasn’t ready to make the commitment to Grad school. Since I didn’t know what field I wanted to get into, I decided to create a list of characteristics I needed my job to possess in order to narrow the field. I wanted a job that required a Bachelor’s degree, would employ me fulltime, support me financially, provide me with health insurance and medical benefits, contribute to my resume, develop my transferable skills, and provide a career path if I decided to stick with it long-term. Enterprise fulfilled my expectations and more, and when I did some additional research into the reputation of the company, I was impressed by the positive feedback from many other big brand name companies about the quality of employees that Enterprise produced. When I asked a UCSB career counselor about what she knew about the company, she also gave me an enthusiastic thumbs up, and at that point, I was committed.

Give us a snapshot of a typical work day.
The workday starts at 7:30am for me. I start by reviewing the daily statistics of the branch, set goals for the day, plan the fleet mix, and start the morning meeting with the team. The branch opens at 8am, and the phone starts ringing! Our customers range from people who are having repairs done on their car, those who are traveling for work, families on vacation, and everything in between. My job is to be the front man of the operation: I need to make sure my team has a clean, well maintained vehicle of the right class at the right time for every customer, grow the business by accepting same-day requests and marketing to potential accounts, coordinate shuttle service to and from the branch, answer financial questions and collect on bills, reduce costs related to renting cars and running a business, while providing a great level of customer service and efficiency, and continuing to push my team achieve their personal revenue goals which make my branch profitable. The day ends at 6pm, and I consider the day a success if my team has hit their goals, there are no cars left to rent, and all my customers walked out of the building completely satisfied with their experience!

What were the 3 most important things you did during you application process to help you land the job?
1. I spent a lot of time at the UCSB career center, having my resume critiqued, talking with counselors, learning how to conduct myself in a professional manner before, during and after the interview process. The UCSB career manual was my self assigned homework every day, and it taught me so much about how to tweak your personal brand in a way that will catch the attention of your potential employer, speak, write, and think in a way that conveys someone who is goal-oriented and has an action plan.
2. I was referred by a current employee of Enterprise who found me through Linked In and I reached out to her for advice and experience as to what kind of traits would be good to highlight, what kinds of skills that company was looking for, and an idea of what I could expect during the day to day operations. I had her proof read my resume, mock interview with her, and we still keep in contact to this day!
3. Commitment. This was a big step for me as it is for anyone, my first fulltime job that I could possibly be doing for the rest of my life! I was worried about failing the interview, I was worried about being bad at the actual job, I worried that there were better options for me if I kept looking, I was worried about choosing wrong. I was apprehensive and anxious and I couldn’t make up my mind what I wanted to do. I did a lot of thinking and soul-searching and one morning, I came to the realization that all my worries were irrelevant: There is no right path, the right path is the one that you CHOOSE, and once you choose it, it is up to you to MAKE it the right path. Once I decided that this was the job that I wanted, I was 110% committed to making it the path that was right for me and my apprehension evaporated and this newfound energy and excitement definitely showed in my interview.

What experience helped you prepare the most for this job?
I think my time at UCSB really helped me prepare for this job because it taught me a great work ethic and gave me the ability to handle any task that was thrown at me.

Looking back on undergrad, is there anything you would have done differently to prepare for your career?
I had no idea I would get into Business management, so I didn’t really think to prepare for a career in this field, but if I had that chance, I think I would have tried to get a head start on developing my marketing and networking skills because that is such a huge part of my business.

What is your advice to students interested in similar positions?
Utilize the resources you have available to you, the career center and its staff, research the career you are interested in, reach out to a current individual in the field, and above all, don’t be afraid to make a commitment!

For more information about the opportunities at Enterprise, visit: http://careers.enterprise.com/

Comments are closed.

