Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Gaucho at Young’s Market

November 20, 2015

YMCName: Elizabeth Brownstein
Major at UCSB: Sociology
Date of graduation: June 2012
Current Job Title at Young’s Market: Division 3 Chain Sales Representative/Merchandiser in Laguna Beach

What motivated you to work at Young’s Market?
I bartended for several years and was hoping to eventually settle into a job with more security and a more predictable schedule. While I was the Assistant General Manager at Tonic Nightclub in Santa Barbara, I met several YMCO representatives. They were always very happy and outspoken about how much they loved working for Young’s and so I definitely took notice. When I decided to make the transition out of bartending, my initial impression of Young’s employees led to applying and the rest is history!

Give us a snapshot of a typical work day.
I call on grocery and drug accounts in attempts to sell in mass displays while simultaneously ensuring that the accounts are stocked and prepared to maximize the sales of Young’s Market Co. products every day. Some accounts involve a lot more laborious tasks like helping unload the shipment of liquor, while other accounts are the type of store that can handle their own restocking, so the sales pitch piece of the call is more intensive and more competitive.

What were the 3 most important things you did during you application process to help you land the job?
1. I didn’t give up – I applied for several different positions before I got the call for an interview but I knew this was a company that I wanted to work for so I knew that it was worth the persistence.
2. I competed – I always do and always have strived to be the best, and that showed through on my resume. Being a competitive person is a definite asset when working in the chain accounts.
3. I learned and familiarized myself with the portfolio of wines and spirits that Young’s Market Co. represented so that I could discuss them in the interview.

What experience helped you prepare the most for this job?
Bartending absolutely helped with developing customer service and people skills, including how to handle big personalities. It also fine tuned the skills of selling and then upselling. Bartending also forces you to adapt quickly and grow a “thick skin” which are both very helpful in this position.

What is your advice to students interested in similar positions?
Undergrad at UCSB taught me how to best employ the mantra “Work hard, play hard,” which I’ve always found pretty helpful (within limits) because as great as a job this is, staying happy and fulfilled off the clock is very important. UCSB really taught me how to balance “work” and “play” in a way that keeps me happy, and helps me separate work from my personal life so that the shifts that don’t go as well don’t bleed into my daily life.

Comments are closed.

